What!? Six Week Muffins?  What does that even mean?  Sounds kinda gross actually…

We’re talking about quantity people…and, this recipe is quite quality as well if you ask me.  In other words, get ready to eat a ton of muffins because this recipe makes a lot of batter, six weeks worth approximately.

For as long as I can remember, these muffins have been a fall/winter breakfast staple in my family.  I have always loved these muffins, in part because they are a perfect vehicle for consuming inappropriate amounts of apple butter (more on that in a future post), but when I moved to Missouri for college I realized the winter months just weren’t the same without them.  Unfortunately, I lived in a house with a lot of other students leaving me no refrigerator space for storing six weeks of muffin batter.  Once I finally got into an apartment, I was finally able to make these homey treats, easing the occasional home sickness.

Now don’t be discouraged by the following information (stick with me here because it’s worth it) but, these are bran muffins.  For me, there are few things worse than a bad bran muffin.  Often, to compensate for the bran (I think many people are just afraid to let it shine), bran muffins are overly sweet and dry.  Plus, bran just evokes unfortunate memories of the cardboard-like foods that reigned during the 90’s low-fat craze.  Not these glorious fiber-rich treats though!  These guys are just sweet enough, boast perfect moisture, and are by far my favorite muffin ever.  And, even though there are only two people in our little household, these never last six weeks.  Maybe I need to change the title to 3 Week Muffins?!

6 Week Muffins

Makes….an incredible amount of muffins

Note:  Store the muffin batter for up to six weeks in your refrigerator.  Once baked, the muffins last well, refrigerated, for about 3-4 days.  I highly recommend slathering with apple butter, but honey is great as well.  I guess if you aren’t up to the challenge of eating so many muffins you could half the recipe.

4 cups Kellogg’s All Bran

2 cups Kellogg’s Bran Buds

2 cups boiling water

3 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

5 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

5 cups all-purpose flour

1 quart buttermilk

4 eggs, lightly beaten

In a medium bowl, combine bran cereals and boiling water.  Set aside.

In another medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together sugar and oil until well combined and sugar begins to dissolve.  Whisk in eggs.  Alternate mixing in flour mixture and buttermilk, beginning and ending with dry ingredients.  Do not over mix.

Fold in bran making sure to break up any big chunks so that all the cereal is evenly distributed.

Store batter in the refrigerator in a sealed container.  When ready to bake, preheat oven to 400° F and grease a muffin pan.  Fill pan with desired amount of muffin batter and bake for 10-15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the muffins comes out clean.  Transfer to rack to cool and store in an airtight container in refrigerator or at room temperature.