So, I wasn’t going to share this recipe with you.  I mean, I am sure everyone has a favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe already and one of my favorite bloggers just wrote about these cookies and I didn’t want to be a copycat.

I have had this recipe bookmarked for a long time, but I have been so obsessed with my yummy vegan cookies, it kept falling to the bottom of the “to-make” list.  When I saw Molly Wizenberg’s lovely post however, I was finally convinced to give them a try.

Boy have I been missing out!  I think I might have gotten a little misty-eyed when I took my first bite.  It was one of those moments when I felt like, “okay, I am done, I never need to eat anything else again!”

What makes this recipe even more special to this dietitian, is that they are only made with whole-wheat flour.  Not even a speck of white flour in these babies…so they are healthy right!?

Go make some, you really shouldn’t be missing out on them any longer!

Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

From Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce

Note:  You can use traditional chocolate chips, but I recommend buying chocolate bars and chopping them yourself.  This results in bigger chunks of chocolate that just weave their way through the whole cookie once baked.  I used Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate, which I think stands up very nicely against the whole-wheat flour.  However, if you prefer your chocolate a little sweeter (and cheaper), one my favorite chocolates to use when baking is Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate.  These are best eaten warm or the same day they are baked.

3 cups whole-wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

8 oz cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

8 oz bittersweet chocolate, roughly chopped into 1/4-and 1/2-inch chunks (see note)

Place two racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat to 350°F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment.

Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.

Add the butter and the sugars to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  With the mixer on low speed, mix just until the butter and sugars are blended, about 2 minutes.  Use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add the eggs one at a time, mixing until each is combined.  Mix in the vanilla.  Add the flour mixture to the bowl and blend on low speed until the flour is barely combined, about 30 seconds.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Add the chocolate all at once to the batter.  Mix on low speed until the chocolate is evenly combined, about 30 seconds.

Scoop mounds of dough about 3 tablespoons in size onto the baking sheet, leaving 3 inches between them.

Bake the cookies for about 16 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through, until the cookies are evenly dark brown.  Transfer the cookies, still on the parchment, to the counter to cool, and repeat with remaining dough.

