Oh boy!  My tummy is happy.  I love Thanksgiving and this year was a great one.  We had about eleven friends and family at my parent’s house which meant great company and lots of comforting food.

I think every family has at least one dish that their Thanksgiving table would not be complete without.  For my family that dish is frozen cranberry salad, a unusual mixture of cranberry, pineapple, banana, and sour cream passed down from my grandma to my dad.  Pretty much all the ingredients come out of a can, but for once I find that perfectly acceptable.  This salad could almost be considered a dessert, but my family eats it along with the rest of the meal.

My dad always takes on the task of making this tart-yet-sweet salad and so this year I decided to help him out.  I know this is a little late for Thanksgiving, but would be a great addition to your Christmas feast.  Enjoy the rest of your holiday!

Frozen Cranberry Salad

Makes at least one 9-by-13-inch frozen salad

Note:  You may freeze this salad in a 9×13-inch baking dish or in individual cupcake cups for easy serving.

3 ripe bananas

20 oz canned crushed pinneapple

3 14 oz cans of jellied cranberry sauce

1 cup pecan pieces

16 oz sour cream

In a large bowl mash the bananas well so no large chunks remain.  Next mix in crushed pineapple and cranberry sauce until well incorporated.  Add pecan pieces and sour cream and stir until evenly distributed.

Distribute mixture into dish of choice or a muffin tin lined with cupcake cups.  Wrap well in plastic wrap and freeze for at least 24 hours before serving.  Remove from freezer about 5 minutes before serving to soften slightly.  Can be frozen for 1 month.