I adore avocado.  In my book, the best way to use avocados is for creating a large bowl of guacamole.

As you have probably noticed by now, I am not the “gold standard” of dietitians.  I love butter, sugar, white flour, opt for dessert more days than not, and ignore portion control when it comes to guacamole.

Please, spare me the lecture about how much fat is in an avocado and how a “serving size” is only 1/8 of this orb of goodness.  I don’t care.  If you are willing to portion out 1/8 of something, I feel sorry for you.

Besides, I think you deserve to relax a little.  These babies are brimming with healthy monounsaturated fats (great for cholesterol levels), folate, and the antioxidant vitamin E.

You know what else is a “super-food”?  Pomegranates.  Full of potent antioxidants that can help fight off nasty diseases and, cross-your-fingers, keep you looking young and healthy, pomegranates and pomegranate juice make a zingy and delicious addition to many recipes.   And you are in luck since pomegranate season is in full force, so make the most of it!

As the new year begins, I am sure many of you are going to resolve to eat healthier.  So here are some of my favorite words of wisdom from journalist Michael Pollan in his wonderful book, In Defense of Food:  “Eat Food.  Not too much.  Mostly Plants.”  In other words: eat real food, not processed junk; if you need a daily dose of dessert like me, try to make it a small one; eat several meatless meals a week, and don’t take it too easy on the avocado.

Pomegranate Guacamole

Note:  I got the idea for this from one of the dietetic interns I had at my last job.  She was telling me about this restaurant she would frequent back home in California that adds seasonal ingredients to their guacamole, pomegranate being one of them.  I thought I should break away from my usual guacamole concoction and try something new.

You will have leftover pomegranate seeds, so make good use of them by sprinkling over granola and yogurt, mixing in oatmeal, or garnishing pancakes.  You could also try my friend Kristy’s scrumptious pomegranate and pistachio couscous dish.  She gives a great explanation for how to seed your pomegranate.

I love cumin and chili powder in my guacamole.  Feel free to omit them or add more or less to taste.

4 small to medium avocados, ripe

1/4 cup minced onion

1 garlic clove, minced

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin (optional)

1/4 teaspoon chili powder (optional)

pinch of kosher salt

juice from one lime

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

3 heaping tablespoons pomegranate seeds

De-seed avocados and place meat in a large bowl and mash well with a fork until some chunks remain.  Stir in onion, garlic, cumin, chili powder, salt, and lime juice until well combined.  Fold in cilantro and pomegranate seeds.

Serve with chips!