From meat and potatoes one day to a vegetarian twist on a breakfast classic the next…that’s just how I roll.

Since I began writing this blog and revisiting my food history, I have realized that I used to be a picky little eater.  With Caesar Salad as my primary food source, I was missing out!  Luckily, many of the foods I discriminated against then are now some of my favorites, including biscuits and gravy.

Now, I’ve always liked biscuits, but gravy…not so much.  To the delight of my belly, I came around and now fully appreciate a pile of biscuits drenched in creamy gravy.

No doubt this isn’t the healthiest of breakfasts, especially if you are like me and could eat the whole batch of biscuits singlehandedly.  So, it might not be a bad idea to lighten it up every now and then.

In this low-fat, protein packed, vegan version, navy beans are cooked then blended with onion, garlic, savory thyme, and plenty of black pepper make a perfect substitute for meaty gravy.  You might not miss the meat at all.

White Bean Gravy

Makes about 2 cups

Recipe from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Note:  Yes, this might not be a pretty dish, but you can’t always judge a food by it’s looks.  I served this vegan gravy with these not-so-vegan biscuits.  The best of both worlds.

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion, roughly chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

3 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped

Several healthy dashes of fresh black pepper

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

1/3 cup flour

1 15-oz can navy beans, drained and rinsed

3 tablespoons soy sauce

1/4-1/2 cup water

Salt (if needed)

Preheat a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Saute the onion and garlic in the oil for about 5 minutes.  Add the thyme and black pepper and cook for about 3 minutes more.  While that is cooking, stir in the flour into the broth until dissolved.

If you have an immersion blender, then add the beans, broth mixture, and soy sauce to the saucepan.  Blend immediately and lower the heat to medium.  Stir the gravy often for about 10 minutes while it thickens.

If you are using a regular blender, add the beans, broth mixture, and soy sauce to the blender and blend until smooth.  Transfer the onion and the other stuff from the pan to blender.  Puree again until no big chunks of onion are left.  Add back to the pot and stir often over medium heat to thicken.

Once the gravy thickens, reduce the hat to low.  Now you can decide exactly how thick you want it by adding splashes of water, anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 cup.  Cook for about 20 more minutes to let the flavors deepen, stirring occasionally.  Add water as necessary and taste for salt.  Keep gravy covered and warm until ready to serve.

