I need at least one big (extra-large even) mug of coffee in the morning.  There is something perfectly reassuring about boiling some water, scooping spoonfuls of coffee, and then letting them marry with some sugar and milk in my French press.  That is pretty much how I make my cup of joe every morning and besides having a headache, I just don’t feel complete without this morning ritual.

I do like to spice things up sometimes though. I simply love a latte!  And the cajeta latte at this fine establishment makes me swoon.  But it costs an arm and a leg to either buy a latte daily or buy a fancy cappuccino maker.

Vanilla lavender sugar is an interesting addition to an otherwise normal cup of coffee.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still extremely dedicated to my usual, but a sip of coffee sweetened with homey vanilla and earthy lavender makes you see coffee in a different light.

Along with a bag of great coffee beans, this makes a great gift too!

Vanilla Lavender Sugar

This recipe is thanks to a fabulous blogger, Joy the Baker (Thanks for the inspiration!)

1 to 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 teaspoon dried lavender blossoms

1 vanilla bean

small mason jar or small tin

cute ribbon

Pour sugar into a medium size bowl.  Top with lavender blossoms.  Cut one small end of the vanilla bean off.  Split the vanilla bean down the center, revealing tiny, sticky vanilla bean specks.  Scrape vanilla beans out with a small knife and add to the sugar and lavender.  Cut the vanilla bean pod in half and reserve.

With the back of a spoon, work the lavender and vanilla bean into the sugar.  Be sure to press on the lavender blossoms to release their oils and to disperse any vanilla bean clumps that may try to form.  Add the reserved vanilla bean pod and continue to press the sugar and lavender and vanilla together.  It should smell amazing.  Pour into jar or tin and finish with a bow and label.

Recipe can be doubled very easily!